Jackson Award Committee

Committee Members: Barbara H. Blake, Hugh H. Genoways, Glennis A. Kaufman (Chair), David M. (Chip) Leslie, Jr., Thomas J. (Mac) McIntyre, and Suzanne B. McLaren

Mission:

The Jackson Award was established in 1977 by the American Society of Mammalogists; the committee is charged with forwarding a nominee to the Board of Directors for the Hartley H. T. Jackson Award. This award honors individuals with a long and outstanding record of service to mammalogy and the Society. Generally, nominees have some combination of extensive service (1) on multiple committees of the Society, (2) in governance of the Society. (3) as editors of Journal of Mammalogy or Mammalian Species, or (4) on special projects of the Society. The committee solicits letters of nominations from the members of the Society and, after review, requests full nominating packets if a nominee is viewed as competitive for the award. Full nomination packets (letter of nomination, letters of support, and curriculum vitae) are evaluated and recommendation of a nominee is given to the Board of Directors who votes on the Committee's nomination. The award is presented formally at the Annual Banquet of the Society.

Information Items:

- (1) The Committee received two letters of nomination from members of the Society.
- (2) The Committee found both nominees competitive for the Jackson Award and requested 2 full nomination packets. The Committee's nominee was forwarded to the Board of Directors; the formal presentation of the recipient of the Jackson Award will be made at the banquet.
- (3) The Committee revised the structure of the Committee webpage and updated the information describing this award and nomination process on the ASM website.

Action Items:

(1) \$300 is requested for plaque.

Respectively submitted: Glennis A. Kaufman, Chair (<u>gkaufman@k-state.edu</u>)